RSS

Overlooked: Cheap Brush Drying with Hanging Dryer Racks

21 May

This contraption is nothing new. Hanging dryer racks like these are commonly used to dry socks, underwear and lingerie. The Benjabelle brush drying tree is expensive as fuck at almost $35 before tax.. I can buy a nice face brush or two eye brushes with that money. In essence, being a cheapskate about brush accessories led me to set up this… thing that i’ll call a brush “vine” where my brushes hang pretty and i can pick them off like fruit.

Empty rack - Rack w/ brushes - Close up of clip

Empty rack – Rack w/ brushes – Close up of clip

Hanging up most of my eye brushes is straight forward. I just clip them in, sometimes two to a clip if they have the same diameter. The jaws of my clips are lined with a silicone-y, grippy layer. For thicker handled brushes like my face and powders tools, I slide them through the oval gap instead of clamping with the jaws directly. I have not had an problems with paint chipping because my clips are plastic.

For thicker handled brushes, I slide them through the oval gap instead of clamping with the jaws directly.

I’m seriously surprised that i haven’t seen this touted as a inexpensive way to dry brushes, yet. Oh wait actually it has, just not with makeup brushes. This person is using a drying rack + some wider-jaw clips for woodblock print brushes. Ha! I’m not the only one that comes up with idiotic ideas, but now i wont be able to proudly claim it as my own crazy creation. Oh well. It’s cheap and it works:

  1. there’s no clutter on the counter
  2. my brushes dry upside down
  3. i can dry a whole bunch at the same time
  4. I can use it to dry other stuff on off days
  5. it collapses flat for easy storage

Limitations
Unsuitable for brushes with really hick handles. Wrong. Adapt the good ol’ rubber band/hair-tie lopped around a bar trick. Bingo. And by using the bars+bands you’ve just doubled or tripled the capacity.

dryer4

You might be asking: why not just rubber-band them up towel bar just like everyone else?

Because towel bars are in the bathroom and it gets humid in there. I used to band-dry my brushes to a clothes hanger in my closet, but i have a special talent for losing hair-ties/rubber-bands, so i need all the spares i can get. Using a drying rack allows me to get away with only using a few hair ties each time as opposed to a whole pack full.

Kabukis/Kinokos are screwed. Wrong again. Well, it’s not a problem for me anyways. I always have some Uhu-tac on hand. Love that stuff to death. I could decorate and hold my whole room together with it, but that’s another review. If you have Uhu tac or some similar re-usable adhesive putty, you can stick some to the bottom of your brush them press it firmly to the underside of the rack. It stays, i swear, and comes cleanly off when you want it to. Just make sure that both surfaces are absolutely dry or the putty will not stick.

Yellow stuff is the putty.

Yellow stuff is the putty.

The one real limitation is that the whole thing needs to be balanced or it drives me nuts. If I put a brush on one side, i need to balance it out on the other side with another brush or two.

And That’s It
If you’re sold on this ghetto brush drying idea, here are several cheap-ish hanging dryer racks but chances are you can find them for less. If you’re asian you can probably score one for free by raiding your parent’s laundry room. If you have grandparents, they will *most definitely* usually have several… hanging around. Sorry, I have a one-pun-per-post minimum to meet.

20 clip from Amazon
16 clip from Ikea

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 21, 2015 in Cosmetic Care

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
