RSS

Summer of Squirrel: Preview of Things to Come

09 May

I start grad school in midjune June so I’m keeping my laundry list for this blog unambitious, but realistic.

  1. Overview of the Chikuhodo Z Series. Remember the Takumi monster? Get ready for another,  bigger one because there are more brushes in the Z- Series. 
  2. Comparison of the MK-1, MK-2, Z-9 and Z-1 Powder Brushes
  • Suqqu Cheek Brush Review (I’ve grown impatient of waiting for a Kyureido Cheek Brush to compare to so fuck it. Suqqu cheek gets its own review and doesn’t have to share the spotlight) 
  • Houkodou GS-1 Large Eye Shadow Brush Review (been a long time coming)
  • Surratt Smoky Eye Brush Moyenne Review (one more eye brush for balance)

**Not necessarily in that order

The hope is that I get the majority of these drafted, and photographed during the couple of weeks I have inbetween the end of my senior spring semester and the start of the next 2 years of hell the next step in my life.  I’m forcing myself to post it publicly so i feel obligated to complete them as promised. =D The numbered ones are “for sure” and the bulleted ones are tenative.

I may get tired of squirrel in the middle of all that and finally finish what I have to say about the 4 shapes of koyomo brushes available in ototsuho hair (face, cheek, round eye, and flat eye shadow brush). If you would like to see that overview sooner, send me a hint.  I’m also thinking of finally reviewing the Wayne Goss Air Brush and Chikuhodo RC-2 / RRC-2  Let me know. if you rather see one of these substituted for one of the bulleted options. 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2017 in Current Events

 

9 responses to “Summer of Squirrel: Preview of Things to Come

  1. Larissa

    May 17, 2017 at 7:32 PM

    I have quite a few of the Surratt brushes if that helps anybody and you want to see comparison shots etc. They now sell them in Mecca (Australians version of Space NK ie swanky make up shop) I find it hard to resist 🙄
    I have the two cheek brushes, large smokey, large eyeshadow, and the two concealer brushes that I use as laydown eye brushes.

    Like

     
    • XYZ

      May 17, 2017 at 10:15 PM

      TWO cheek brushes! :O I’m assuming you bought them at Australian prices too. is it that good?

      i was considering the large smokey brush for a hot minute but decided to go with the more reasonably sized medium. i was also tempted by the large classic eye brush becuase but again got medium. it’s alright…

      do you happen to have the houkodou GS-1 to compare the large classique eye brush to? that was another reason i didn’t get it

      Like

       
      • Larissa

        May 18, 2017 at 6:52 PM

        Ha, sorry! I should have really said I have the cheek and the sculpting brush. Australian prices are awful! (Note I have still managed to justify buying 6 surratt brushes 🤦🏼‍♀️)
        I do love the cheek one though, nice Pom Pom shape and quite good with harder blushes that are still moderately pigmented, like the Clinique pop blushes. I don’t use the sculpting one that much (more to do with the fact I have a brush problem and so too many brushes rather than it being no good)
        Large classic eyeshadow I’m a bit meh on. I think because Canadian squirrel just doesn’t fit my needs for eye brushes. I prefer large dense brushes for all over lid colours (like the T-6 or alltime fave GSN-07) and firmer bristles for moving lid like kolinsky (hello Shu 12 and GSN-09, I know bit if a contradiction but the fan is so tightly bundled I still get a heavier application)
        I don’t have any houkodu brushes I’m sorry! The only brushes I’ve ordered sight unseen are from Beautylish/hakuhodo, but I do have z and takumi series if size comparison helps? Very similar width ferrule to the T-6 but 2mm shorter and about a 1/3 of the density/depth. Now I get my other brushes out it’s actually an almost identical footprint to the Shu-12 natural.

        Like

         
      • Larissa

        May 18, 2017 at 7:03 PM

        I put a few pics on instagram (hurrah, I can use technology!) for size comparison…

        Ps as you can see I’m no expert 😬

        Like

         
      • XYZ

        May 18, 2017 at 8:10 PM

        Better than me. I’m a fail blogger. Don’t even have an Instagram sccount

        Like

         
  2. Julie

    May 15, 2017 at 11:53 AM

    Even though you are still thinking about it, I would like to see a review on Chikuhodo RC-2 / RRC-2. I have heard so much it and love those type of cheek brushes. When you referred to the Kyureido Cheek Brush are you talking about the Fine Kalla KK-002? I also had waited and finally got it and the Kyureido K-003through CDJapan through their shopper service. No regrets there for sure. Surratt would also be a great blog as I have the cheek brush and know nothing of the eye brushes and their is not a whole lot about them on the web. Thank you for doing this. Best to you in your grad studies.

    Like

     
    • XYZ

      May 17, 2017 at 9:51 AM

      Yes the fine kalla 2. I guess I’m bumping it up on my wishlist. how is the 003? I might order several brushes at a time to make that shipping cost worth it.

      I’m really surprised that there is still next to no information on Surratt Brushes despite the fact that they are so accessible for fude. not to mention sephora generous return policy (in the US anyways). it’s a safe buy, besides Chikuhodo brushes off beautylish.

      Like

       
  3. Larissa

    May 14, 2017 at 7:16 AM

    Argh! Z series and Koyomo would be AMAZING! Who am I kidding, I love all your reviews 😍 I just would like to know if I need (hmmmm, define need?) all of the big z fluffies in my life when I already own the Suqqu face. So excited for more, a big thanks from me, I find it too much effort to make eBay listings let alone log posts! xx

    Like

     
    • XYZ

      May 14, 2017 at 9:41 PM

      I don’t have the Suqqu face, but I’ll try my best to give you enough information to decide!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
